A Glossier-Inspired Photoshoot… on a Budget!

Dear Diary,

Meet Marina!! Marina is a lovely, wonderful friend that I met through my college. She texted me a while back and asked if I was free for a photoshoot.

Here’s some context: Marina is endlessly sweet and fun to be around, plus she’s INSANELY talented. She has one of the strongest personal brands and aesthetics that I know –– when I see her work, I know it’s hers.

So naturally, I said HECK YES.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Isn’t she the cutest? Also, a boss. Her website is linked above, and her Instagram is linked below.

Marina said this about her inspiration for our shoot:

“Going into the project, I was hoping to experiment with lighting and a different style photography. I got a lot of inspiration from Glossier and wanted to incorporate the color pink and some interesting beauty techniques. It was sort of a celebration of femininity.”

I showed up to her apartment.

Her roommate nearly gave me a heart attack by walking out of the door right as I was knocking on the door.

Marina sliced some apples and scooped some peanut butter so we could snack while we worked. (Shoutout to Brooklyn farmers markets.)

Her first words to me were: “I’m going to glue flowers to your face.”

I thought she meant Elmer’s glue.

She actually meant NYX makeup face glue. (Thank the Lord!!) After I realized this, I was fully on board.

That day, she had made a trip to the store to buy makeup face glue and pink construction paper. Earlier in the week, she had picked some flowers and pressed them in her Introduction to New Testament textbook.

Marina used these adjectives to describe the shoot:

Feminine. Mod. Floral.

She did my makeup for me (just light contour, highlight, mascara, and cheek tint) and curled up my already-curly hair.

I liked the look so much, that I wore it for the rest of the day. As if Marina wasn’t talented enough, maybe she should look into personal styling… 😉

The photos turned out SUPER cool, and I think we captured the Glossier aesthetic pretty well. Oh, also, Glossier doesn’t pay me anything to talk about their brand…

…at least not yet, anyways 😉

BUT, I do really love the company, and they have great vibes for a beauty photoshoot.

Here’s a sampling of the final product. Check them out!

 

So, there you have it! Here’s the link to Marina’s IG if you haven’t looked her up already. If you made it to the end of this post, I’d love to hear what you think! Leave your thoughts below about the shoot, the photos, or the last time you had flowers glued to your face.

“Fierce and love,”

Nat

Leave a comment