Two Shoots, One Day: Part I

Dear Diary,

A few Saturday’s ago, I scheduled two shoots for one day.

Yes, I really might be crazy.

Both photographers were in the City from out of town, and I really wanted to shoot with both of them.

So, I backed my bright orange JanSport backpack full to the brim with three different outfits, put on the fourth outfit, and hopped on the JZ train to Williamsburg to meet my first photographer: Jacalyn!

img_3869
Dear Diary, Meet Jacalyn!!! She was SO nice and fun to work with.

I met Jacalyn through a friend at my school, whose sister is a good friend of Jacalyn’s. Jacalyn messaged me on Instagram and asked if we could shoot when she came into NYC.

I’m so glad my friend Leah connected us, because the shoot was amazingggggg.

Jacalyn had told me before hand that she was going for a vintage vibe. She sent me some photos to set the right mood, and then I sent back some pictures of clothes from my closet that I thought would match. Together, we refined them to two looks.

This is a pretty common process for the types of photoshoots that I do, and I think it worked out pretty well, if I do say so myself.

Jacalyn said this about her hope for the shoot:

“I’d like to describe my vision for most shoots, including Natalie’s, as natural. I choose to work with girls who have a natural look. I find instructing models to come with little to no makeup to be the most beautiful.”

It was a BLAST working with Jacalyn. We met at the place she was staying in Williamsburg and did the photoshoot up on the roof of the building.

The weather was BEAUTIFUL.

The lighting was just right with the sun peaking through the clouds.

There was no one else using the roof, so thankfully I didn’t have to pose in front of an audience. Posing in front of a bunch of random people could’ve been kinda awkward… so we got lucky!

Check out these shots!!

Jacalyn3Jacalyn1Jacalyn2

One of my favorite parts about our shoot is that Jacalyn shot on her digital camera, on film, and on a disposable camera.

This last shot was one from the disposable camera, and it’s one of my absolute favorites. The disposable camera reinforces Jacalyn’s natural vibe––it doesn’t get much more natural than snapping photos on a disposable camera. Creating something beautiful is about so much more than using fancy equipment.

It’s about the connection between the photographer and the model and the story behind the shoot. That’s what I love about the disposable camera shots.

Here’s Jacalyn’s Instagram again: @jacalynmeyvis. If you haven’t checked it out, the time is NOW.

After Jacalyn and I finished, I hopped on the L train for Manhattan. I transferred to the NQR to get to Times Square for work and a meeting. (If you’re keeping count, this is my third subway line of the day. PTL for unlimited metro cards.)

I had about two and a half hours scheduled in Midtown before I had to head uptown for the second part of my two shoot day.

But, you’ll have to read Part II to hear anymore about that…

“Fierce and love,”

Nat